School News 15th May 2022

Borrisokane Community College School Notes


Boys East Munster Athletics Competition

Well done to our students who competed in the East Munster Boys competition this week. Congratulations to Adam Bourke 1st place in the hammer throw, Matthew Hardy 2nd place in the long jump, Adrian Dockery 2nd place in the discus, James Tanner 2nd place in the 3000 meters


1st Year Boys Soccer- North Munster Cup

Hard luck to our 1st year boys who lost their game this week against St. Annes Cork.  The boys played their hearts out, but it wasn’t to be their day.  Plans are already in place for next year.


2nd Year Tour Tayto Park

Our 2nd years travelled to Tayo Park on Thursday.  A most enjoyable day was had by all.

Swop Shop

Well done to everyone who was involved in making our Swop Shop a great success. There were many items of clothing swopped and it is great to highlight the importance of Sustainability and how each of us can do something to help.

2nd Year Coding

Well done to our coding students who took part in the annual games Fleadh in Colaiste Mhuire Thurles.  Well done to Sam and Cillian who came away winners on the day.


This week we were delighted to welcome our partner schools from Germany, Austria and Spain for the first mobility of our Include me Project.  Thanks to all of those involved in making this event a huge success.

May Day for Sustainability

Yet again this year our May Day for Sustainability was a huge success.  We highlighted all the great work that is going on in Borrisokane Community College to be more sustainable.  Please take a look at our social media to see how our school community are highlighting sustainability all year round.


Tipperary ETB Awards.

Borrisokane Community College Board of Management presented the Tipperary ETB 2021 Awards to students of the Leaving Certificate class of 2021 last week.  Four students received awards as follows: Laura Hayes received the Best Leaving Certificate Award in recognition of her achievement of 625 Point in her Leaving Certificate.  Sarah Bowe received the award for the best Leaving Certificate Applied result.  Shane Gleeson received a Personal Achievement Award to recognise his progress during his time at Borrisokane Community College and Aine Slattery received the Sports Award in recognition of her achievement in camogie during her time at Borrisokane Community College.

Borrisokane Community College students receive the Tipperary ETB Awards: L to R: Matthew Carr Principal Borrisokane Community College, Aine Slattery Sports Award, Laura Hayes Best Leaving Certificate Award, Sarah Bowe Best Leaving Certificate Applied Award, Shane Gleeson Personal Achievement Award, Paula Molloy Deputy Principal Borrisokane Community College.